Best Travel & Tours Package | Black Diamond Expedition
Kailash Travel Guide

Tibet Travel Guide

Tibet Travel Guide

Tibet Overview

Tibet, the roof of the world and the land of snow, is distinctive and mysterious land having the very early history, great geographical significant, high valued religions, preserved traditions and customs, live culture, and breath-taking natural sceneries all these make tourist feel it as a heaven on earth.

Geographically rich Tibet is situated with an average altitude over 4,000m/13,120ft above the sea level at the southwestern part of China. Tibet is the home of the eleven Himalayas over 8000 m including Mt. Everest(8,848m), the highest mountain in a boarder of Nepal, the holy mountain Mt. Kailash,  and more than fifty peaks above 7,000 m. Thousands of lakes and large rivers, some of which are very sacred, make Tibet the major destination of water source in Asia.

Tibet is renowned as a destination of high valued religions. Bon was the earliest religion of Tibet and Buddhism is the main one. Bon and Buddhism both religions adopted or exchanged most of the norms, values and beliefs. Mount Kailash stands as a sacred place for many religions like Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism and bon religion. Many monasteries are built in mix architecture of Tibetan, Chinese, Nepalese and Indian. Modernization does not change the tradition of Tibet. So, the Tibet is the best example of religious tolerance and live museum.

With its vast grasslands, high mountains, alpine lakes, reach culture Tibet is surely a dream destination for tourists, climbers and adventurers.

Tibet Autonomous Region situated in the west of China is bordered to India, Nepal, Burma, Sikkim and Bhutan to the south.  It is the second largest area in China which occupied one-eighth of the national total area (1.2 million Square kilometers). It is adjoined with Xinjiang and Qinghai to the north, Sichuan to the east, and Yunnan to the southeast.

Geographically, Tibet can be divided into three major regions, the east, north and south.
Eastern Region: it is forest region occupying approximately one-fourth of the land. Virgin forests run the entire breadth and length of this part.

Northern Region: it is open grassland where nomads and yak and sheep dwell here. This part occupies approximately half of Tibet. 

Southern and central Region: it is agricultural region occupying about one-fourth of land. All major Tibetan cities and towns such as Lhasa, Shigatse, Gyantse and Tsetang as well are several mountain ranges (including Mt. Everest) with an average altitude of 6,000 m are located in this area. It is considered the cultural center of Tibet.